and other assorted pastimes

Talk Derby

When I set my sights on announcing roller derby I knew it would be a challenge to learn new skills but the journey is most of the fun. I already talk for a living.  Getting on the microphone in public is never an issue.  The lure to the mic is learning.  I already love the sport of roller derby and who doesn’t love fun sports played well?  These women are some of my favorite athletes and I never cease to be amazed at how easily the skates are an extension of the skaters.

Big Daddy Voodoo's Announcer Workshop

Before I announced a single bout I traveled to Johnson City Tennessee to attend an announcer workshop with Big Daddy Voodoo.  It was nice to meet other announcers in the region and a big boost to the confidence to pass the mic around with so many fun voices during a regional scrimmage.    I keep learning more and more every time I get a chance and have come to enjoy talking to myself in the corner at the league scrimmages.

I enjoy announcing the home bouts of the Chattanooga Roller Girls. They are an apprentice league in WFTDA and I hope to improve and advance right along with them.

Johnson City Announcer Workshop February 2011

Johnson City Announcer Workshop February 2011

 

 

Raw talent unleashed!

Leave a comment